newbie questions (was: "Is there no way to un-forbid a store?")

jseagull

I am brand new to mafia, and have been exploring all the nooks and crannies. Today I found that when you right-click on a store in search results in the Purchases tab, it gives you the option to "toggle forbidden store." I was curious what this would do, so I tried it, and the store immediately disappeared...

Ok, no biggie, right? It's a *toggle* so I can just toggle it back. ... right?

I have spent about an hour now googling and checking every possible place inside mafia, but I cannot find how to turn this off. I use this particular store all the time, so it's not ideal. Can anyone help me to figure out how to undo this?? Thanks.

player1

To see the list of stores you have forbidden and make changes yourself:
prefref forbiddenStores

to clear the list completely:
set forbiddenStores =

jseagull

great, thank you!! I guess there must be a bunch of stuff that you can only do by interacting with the CLI? Is there a good place I can look to learn about those features?

player1

Kind of. There is a wiki that is very helpful but it is not 100% comprehensive. I would start by putting "set logPreferenceChange = true" in your CLI so that your changes are displayed and also recorded in your sessions logs. That's how I found the preference you were looking for.

You can also type "prefref" in CLI to see all of your preferences. Or "prefref ___" and fill in the blank with a guess of what you're looking for, e.g. "prefref forbid" would have put you on the right track for your initial problem.

If you do just want to read the wiki, this page and the linked pages here list many preferences. But it's not all inclusive as I said before.

jseagull

Great idea. I had actually turned a lot of that off, since I'm pretty clutter-averse. But now I know that stuff isn't clutter. lol. Thanks again.

Veracity

Developer
Staff member
Alternatively, if you do this:

Code:
set showForbiddenStores=true