Question about looping if multi-using item doesn't make anything interesting.

dibbin

Hi All.

If this has already been addressed, I apologize and will spend the next four days wearing a shirt that says, 'I can haz meat?' :)

Onward..
I have an Ash script that I created to help me test what items are created via multi-use.

For instance, I have around 200 duct tape and i want to see what I can make with them.
I have a loop that tries to use 1, then 2, then 3, etc... but the ASH script seems to abort as soon as multi-using the items doesn't make anything interesting.

Is that an expected behavior or am I just missing something?

I've been coding in ASH for a couple of years now and am a computer programmer by trade so hopefully I'm not just making a noob error.

Here is a rough idea of what Im trying to do just for example. This never makes it past using 1 duct tape because using 1 duct tape doesn't make anything interesting..

int ItemCount;
int i =1;
string ItemName = "duct tape";

ItemCount = item_amount(to_item(ItemName));

while(i<ItemCount && item_amount(to_item(ItemName)) >= i){
use (i, to_item(ItemName));
print("You now have " + item_amount(to_item(ItemName)) + " " + to_item(ItemName) + " remaining.");
i +=1;
}

Thanks for your help!

roippi

Developer
If you're using this as a didactic tool for learning ash, that's cool. Otherwise, you know you can just parse concoctions.txt to get the information you want?

Theraze

Depends on if this is designed for trying to find new concoctions or if the goal is to check for existing ones.

Personally, I'm a fan of using crafting_ideas to automatically build them for me, if I have the ingredients anyways... :)

dibbin

A little bit of both, Theraze. One of my favorite things about this game is finding new items and concoctions that I didn't know existed and being able to write code to do it is just icing on the cake for me.

slyz

Developer