Bug Numerous problems with command syntax instructions

jseagull

Hello,

This isn't exactly a "bug," but I didn't see a better category in which to post this. It's an issue with the information on the site. If this doesn't belong here, please feel free to move it.

Today, I was trying to find out how I could use a command to request a buff from Buffy through the cli, and therefore be able to use it in a basic script. Couldn't find one, so my next thought was to see if there is a way to send a player a private message via cli, since Buffy is able to work with chat pms. I came across some pages here that seemed like they were what I was looking for, but no matter what I tried, I couldn't get any of the options to work, and I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong. I am not a coder, but I can definitely follow instructions, and I tried to make sure I followed everything exactly.. to no avail.

Eventually, I reached the point of spamming variations into the cli until something worked. The command I had been trying to use -- chat_private( string, string ) -- Only worked when a blank space was added between the command and the first parenthesis, like so: chat_private ( buffy, 25 ode ) . This was confusing, since every example of similar commands I had been trying were all formatted to have the command touching the parenthesis with no blank space in between.

I thought to myself, well, maybe this command isn't meant to be entered into cli this way, maybe this is how you're supposed to use it in a script? I made a two-line script testing whether the "with space" or "without space" version would work in a script. Only the "with space" version worked. I tried other commands. chat_clan? Same thing. use_skill? Yup...