Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Problem after trying to update Java

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    384

    Default

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/robocode/

    Is a game but the setup is a jar file as is the game. If you are frustrated enough the ability to install and run, or not, might help you.

    or

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/ipscan/
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    Thanks for the links. I'll check them out as soon as I have a bit of free time. Suddenly overwhelmed by trying to come up with some useful GooCore scripts.

  2. #12
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,795

    Default

    In theory, if your environment doesn't support running "arbitrary" jar files then it is probably the environment.

    Some time in the past decade there was a situation where mafia would start, log in credentials would be presented and mafia would appear to be hung or stuck. This was not repeatable but occasionally someone would get evidence of blocked threads or race conditions or something else suggesting an error in how mafia was handling threads. Various changes were made and the frequency of reports declined and people who understood what the problem might be agreed that the changes would at least partially address the issue. So this could be a repeatable occurrence of that problem, in which case remembering the tools used to gather data and teaching you how to use them might be a worthwhile effort.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    384

    Default

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/robocode/

    Is a game but the setup is a jar file as is the game. If you are frustrated enough the ability to install and run, or not, might help you.

    or

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/ipscan/
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    Ok, I downloaded and installed both of those without problem. Ran the robocode .jar file and it installed all the robocode stuff. Ran the Angry IP Scanner and it brought up a couple of info windows, but I just quit because I didn't really know what to do. So it looks like both worked, but my mafia .jar files still won't log in my char(s). What's the next step?

  4. #14
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,795

    Default

    The tools I recall required installing a JDK to get access to them. Obviously if the issue is your environment, installing a new one is not going to help find the problem.

    I'll let you find one. Note that the JDK is versioned so you might be able, with a little effort, to find one for your current version of Java rather than just using the latest.

    You need to run these from a command line and it is easiest if there is only one instance of mafia running at the time. The most useful time to run would be when you think things are stalled. You could run the stack command (see below) more than once since if the results are similar within a couple of minutes that is confirmation that things are stalled. Obviously capture the output and share here. If you're lucky I might see something that points to a problem.

    The commands are jps and jstack. jps gets the process ids of any java related processes. There should be two. One should be jps itself and one should be KoLmafia. Run jstack using the process id for the mafia.

    Code:
    C:\Users\CafeBabe>jps
    12208 KoLmafia-20379.jar
    14156 Jps
    
    C:\Users\CafeBabe>jstack 12208
    2020-09-19 07:59:29
    Full thread dump Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (13.0.2+8 mixed mode, sharing):
    
    Threads class SMR info:
    _java_thread_list=0x0000022690864e20, length=19, elements={
    0x00000226fd976800, 0x00000226fd97a800, 0x00000226fd99a000, 0x00000226fd99c800,
    0x00000226fd99e000, 0x00000226fe228800, 0x00000226fe232800, 0x00000226fe368000,
    0x00000226fe373800, 0x00000226fe8d5000, 0x00000226fe84e000, 0x00000226feb58800,
    0x00000226fe981800, 0x00000226917a0800, 0x0000022691b6a800, 0x00000226e6d5e000,
    0x000002269122d000, 0x0000022694440000, 0x0000022694443800
    }
    
    "Reference Handler" #2 daemon prio=10 os_prio=2 cpu=0.00ms elapsed=172.14s tid=0x00000226fd976800 nid=0x3bd0 waiting on condition  [0x000000bd58fff000]
       java.lang.Thread.State: RUNNABLE
    If you get something about the command jps not being found then the JDK isn't installed. On Windows that usually means something failed to add the JDK binaries to the PATH.

    Good luck.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    384

    Default

    The tools I recall required installing a JDK to get access to them. Obviously if the issue is your environment, installing a new one is not going to help find the problem.

    [... deleted ]

    The commands are jps and jstack. jps gets the process ids of any java related processes. There should be two. One should be jps itself and one should be KoLmafia. Run jstack using the process id for the mafia.

    [ ... deleted ]StackDump1.txtStackDump2.txt

    Good luck.
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post

    I've attached two files: StackDump1.txt and StackDump2.txt. StackDump1.txt was made a minute or two after double clicking the mafia .jar file. StackDump2.txt was made a minute or so after clicking the login button. Nothing happened after that, as far as I could see.

    Thanks again for all your help.

    Edit: Sorry, I don't seem to be smart enough to figure out how to control where the attached file links appear. Will try to move them, if I can figure it out.
    Last edited by Ethelred; 09-22-2020 at 01:16 AM.

  6. #16
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,795

    Default

    well i downloaded files. will look.
    Well, thank you.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post

  7. #17
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,795

    Default

    Help?

    I used to remember all of this.

    Both StackDump1 and StackDump2 have AWT-EventQueue-0 in a WAITING state. On my system working normally I could not "catch" that thread in a WAITING state - it was always RUNNABLE. I'd like to hypothesize that something is stopping it from running but I also am not sure what things look like when KoLmafia is idle and waiting for user input.

    StackDump2 has pool-1-thread-2 in a TIMED_WAITING state. I infer that KoLmafia started that thread, probably in response to the Login button being pressed (perhaps a minute earlier?).

    So I didn't get lucky and figure out some kind of deadlock state that tells me what to look for and where.

    I have a couple of things I want to try on my system but if anyone remembers and/or understands this better than I do, I'd love the help.

    Thanks.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    384

    Default

    Help?

    I used to remember all of this.

    [ ... deleted ]

    I have a couple of things I want to try on my system but if anyone remembers and/or understands this better than I do, I'd love the help.

    Thanks.
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    Are you waiting for something else from me? Or was that a general appeal to the community? Let me know if I can do anything. I'd sure like to get to the bottom of this. Thanks again for your help.

  9. #19
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,795

    Default

    Appeal to the community and then I got distracted by the restore sort issues, I try to give it some more cycles but I am short on ideas...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •