Player ID

pgrmdave

I'm new to scripting, and I'm trying to make a somewhat specialized chatbot, but I need to get a person's player id number when they pm me - how would I go about doing that?

pgrmdave

Yes, they'll be in my clan, but I'm a bit wary of loading the clan member's page (assuming that's what you're talking about), as I'm in Senam's, and we've got a bit over 11,000 members.

Grotfang

Developer

Nice link, Spiny (didn't even know that existed!) but it's not wholly reliable, from what the forum post says - especially, I imagine, in a clan where names may be less than original. pgrmdave... how many people approve applications? Also, how many new applications are accepted and rejected each day? The issue, as you rightly point out, is not necessarily the difficulty of the process, but rather the problem of size of any system we come up with. An alternative method (reducing server hits) would be to get mafia to log all your members through - initially - hitting your member pages (not your detailed roster, mind; that would be far too big) and subsequently parsing your clan log.

What I am imagining is a system whereby mafia creates local map files of your entire clan, then changes those files according to what it finds having changed in your Clan Activity Log. That would remove hitting the server more than once per session (or once every set time period) and would also speed up any checks you run for the individual's name.

mredge73

What I am imagining is a system whereby mafia creates local map files of your entire clan, then changes those files according to what it finds having changed in your Clan Activity Log. That would remove hitting the server more than once per session (or once every set time period) and would also speed up any checks you run for the individual's name.