Bug KoLMafia thinks Big Brother isn't rescued

Qualidus

This is my first time sea adventuring on this character and I'm at the Mer-kin Library. I used to be able to "make dolphin whistle" earlier in this run but that no longer seems to work.

This is from version 12219.

The errors I get are:
> make 1 dolphin whistle
That item cannot be created.

> debugcreate dolphin whistle
dolphin whistle.canMake(2) => 1

Attempting to visit Big Brother in the CoinMasters frame says the following:
You haven't rescued Big Brother yet.

Yet I can visit Big Brother and manually purchase the dolphin whistles.

Poking at the source it seems like rescuedBigBrother (BigBrotherRequest.java) is set true if I have an aerated diving helmet or if I have SCUBA gear and a bubblin' stone.

At my current quest progress, I used the aerated diving helmet to make the Crappy Mer-Kin mask (then used that to make the Mer-kin scholar mask), This consumed the one bubblin' stone I received for the run and I no longer have an aerated diving helmet either. I'm also using the old SCUBA tank instead of the makeshift SCUBA gear.

I'm not sure if there's a better way to determine if Big Brother has been rescued.

lostcalpolydude

Developer
Staff member
The only way to properly track that is with a quest-tracking setting. Until that exists, it should probably be too permissive rather than too restrictive, perhaps by checking for a bathysphere.

Veracity

Developer
Staff member
Poking at the source it seems like rescuedBigBrother (BigBrotherRequest.java) is set true if I have an aerated diving helmet or if I have SCUBA gear and a bubblin' stone.

At my current quest progress, I used the aerated diving helmet to make the Crappy Mer-Kin mask (then used that to make the Mer-kin scholar mask), This consumed the one bubblin' stone I received for the run and I no longer have an aerated diving helmet either. I'm also using the old SCUBA tank instead of the makeshift SCUBA gear.