Getting Involved

bumcheekcity

Mainly out of interest, how many people code KolMafia? I'd like to see if it was easy enough for me to make changes, bugfixes, help and whatnot. Is there a CVS, or is the code avaliable somewhere for us to poke through and go "oooh"?

I'm no Java expert, but I would like to have a project this summer :D

EDIT: Here's how I did it:

1) Download and install "Tortoise SVN" from the interwebs.
2) Right-click on your Desktop once it's installed, go to "SVN Checkout", and then type "https://kolmafia.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/kolmafia" into the URL of Repository box.
3) Click OK, and it'll download your stuff, by default into your Desktop/kolmafia folder.
4) When you want to update the files, right-click on your kolmafia folder and select "SVN Update".
5) To compile, you'll need to install Ant. Google for and download "WinAnt".
6) Go to your C:/Program Files/WinAnt/bin folder and copy and paste "ant.bat" into your Desktop/kolmafia folder.
7) To compile, double-click on that batch file.

Last edited:

bumcheekcity

Posted in that thread, but as it's a sticky, it's clearly not checked that much. We have Tortoise CVS here, and I can't install anything else. Is there an easy way to get into the code using Tortoise? I'm managing to read it, but I'm unsure how to actually submit any changes that I'd like to make.

Veracity

Developer
Staff member
You need submit privileges on Sourceforge before you can submit changes directly. I can enable that, but I suggest you do what the other developers did initially: submit your code to existing developers who have submit privileges for inspection and let them submit it for you, so we can get to know you and trust your code. Who ARE you, anyway? What is your sourceforge ID? I'd like to look at your profile there. Send me e-mail. :)