Feature - Rejected Add wiki link to class in relay browser

Another feature suggest by a friend that I thought would be nifty and whipped up - changing the class listed in the character pane in the relay browser to add a link to the appropriate wiki page for the class. Patch is against r10887, builds/runs/works. Minor, but has been helpful for me as I play to have a quick way to refer to class info.

Attachments

• class_wiki_link.patch
    2.1 KB · Views: 33
Because it's useful to have out of the box? I suspect that's not a very useful response, though, as I don't know what your philosophy is around what should be in the code vs. what should be a relay override script. Forgive me, I'm very new to kolmafia development, so if there's a better/preferred way to do this, I'm happy to take another stab at it. I figured best way to have a meaningful conversation about it is to post some code.

fronobulax

Developer
Staff member
It is hard to articulate the inclusion philosophy. Minimizing server hits on KoL and (to a lesser extent) other sites seems to be a constant. Community support and interest for the feature are important. The presence, or absence, of alternatives is a factor. If it makes life easier or more interesting for the existing devs then it is likely to become a feature.

In this particular case, I have to ask Why? What kind of play style constantly refers to basic class information on the wiki? Is your friend a KoL noob or an experienced player? Can you justify the inclusion by comparison to the option to click on an item and see the wiki page? So the best conversation to have would be how this makes "things" "better" for appropriate definitions of "things" and "better". Just because something can be done does not mean it should be. Let's make a case.

Veracity

Developer
Staff member
I know that I would never use this feature. I don't even use Wiki links for items; if I am unclear about what an item does, I look at modifiers.txt. :)

lostcalpolydude