Possible update to top menu (compact mode)?

holatuwol

Developer
After starting the game again, I've found that when I need to go some place, I want to click the 'main map' option, because navigating the main map feels faster than visually scanning lists.

I tried switching over to flat navigation (the style that's used in full mode), and I couldn't figure out how I'd navigate it any faster than I would navigate a map, gradually drilling down to where I need to go.

So, I was wondering ... am I the only one who feels this way, or is this only because I'm new to the game again?

dangerpin

All the main map items ( I can think of) are listed as links in the relay browser top menu. The only time I start from the main map is when it is a holiday (accessible from the main map) or if my top menu has not yet properly added the link (sometimes happens with the lair, when just opened). Otherwise I am never going to the main map.

Oh, one other exception. The Sea.

Then again, I don't use compact mode so maybe I am missing something.

Bale

Minion
Well, I use full mode because I'd rather choose from teeny-tiny links than a drop-down. There are however a couple of places I'd often like to choose from that are missing from the top menu that force me to drill down to them: Stalk, Manor, Knob and Sea. Of course Mr. Script adds two of the four already, but I'd prefer to be able to operate without Firefox.

If you want to check out a fully featured top-menu check out the greasemonkey script Mr. Script.

Veracity

Developer
Staff member
I notice that when I "use" the dinghy plans from the "use" link we create - either on the plans, if you have the planks first, or on the planks, if you have the plans first - KoL does not add the Island to the top menu.