Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 82

Thread: stannius' semi-automatic spaaace script

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Someone ran my script! Awesome!

    (Unfortunately they ran v0.1, which doesn't work... how do I add automatic version checking?)

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    377

    Default

    So, I knew that the version checking stuff was part of zlib, and I knew that Bale's newLife.ash script used it. So I copied the line from Bale's script...
    Code:
    check_version("newLife", "Bale_newLife", "1.72", 2769);
    Ok, four parameters... so in zlib i found the check_version() function and see
    Code:
    string check_version(string soft, string prop, string thisver, int thread)
    Now I know what those parameters are. btw, your thread number for this thread is 6969.
    Now, I'm not sure what the difference between soft and prop are. Looking more into the zlib function, it looks like the current version is saved in a property named "_version_"+prop.
    Also, I know it's scraping something from the forum thread's main post.. so I found the matcher
    Code:
    matcher find_ver = create_matcher("<b>"+soft+" (.+?)</b>",page);
    And snap, that's what it's looking for in the forums... so I pop over to the newLife thread and I see right at the top newLife 1.73 (which means mine need updating ) So that's where you update the version in the first post every time you post a revision.

    So, in your first post add a line
    Code:
    [b]spaaace 0.2[/b]
    . Then in your script, after importing zlib, add
    Code:
    check_version("spaaace","spaaace","0.2",6969);
    Should work!
    Last edited by Bale; 06-23-2011 at 05:26 AM. Reason: fixed [b]spaaace 0.2[/b]

  3. #13
    Minion Bale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13,287

    Default

    I presumptuously edited Weatherboy's post to remove a rather subtle error. In case anyone had already read that post, you'll see that now he suggests that the first post should contain [b]spaaace 0.2[/b].

    Weatherboy was almost right, but confused about the difference between bbcode and html. Since html does not work in a forum post, using it will not produce the result he expected.
    Last edited by Bale; 06-23-2011 at 05:31 AM.
    If people like my scripts, please send me stuffed Hodgmen.
    Universal Recovery, OCD Inventory Control, CounterChecker, newLife, ChIT.


  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    377

    Default

    Ahhhhhh. You are right, I did not think about that.
    I actually just expected him to use the cool little B button.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Thanks guys!

    The good news is, while adding this to my script, I noticed this
    Code:
    script "stannius_spaaace_0.1.ash";
    ... so it seems that my (now 2!) customers were probably running the latest version after all.

    My ultimate goal is to be the go-to spaaace script. How long do I have to wait before I incorporate the good ideas from others' scripts?

  6. #16
    Senior Member Winterbay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    In this case you should probably wait to post a version incorporating work from others until after the competition has been settled...
    My scripts:
    Best sushi for Profit
    Winterbay's Helpful Automatic Monsterbasher (WHAM)

    Scripts maintained by me:
    Autobasement
    Smashlib

    A small programmer joke:
    Wife: Honey, please go to the market and buy 1 bottle of milk. If they have eggs, bring 6.
    The man came back with 6 bottles of milk.
    Wife: Why did you buy 6 bottles of milk.
    Man: Because they had eggs...

    The 6 Stages of Debugging: 1 )That can't happen. 2) That shouldn't happen. 3) Hmmm, weird. 4) Why does that happen? 5) Oh, I see. 6 )How did that ever work?

    All programs can be optimized, and all programs have bugs; therefore all programs can be optimized to one line that doesn’t work. /Bob Fitch, Blizzard

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Version 0.3 uploaded.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Winterbay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    Ran v0.2 (started just before you uploaded version 0.3) and it went fine and it said it was finding the generator to activate it with the EMU unit when I had to go on vacation for a few days so had to abort. When I got back the quest log said that I needed to find the generator and fix it while my inventory only had two parts of the EMU unit and no unit. This understandably made the script confused and it aborted.
    Having done the parts to get the last two parts, the spooky girl and the escort mission manually the script finished off just fine.

    No idea what happened to let the quest log move forward faster than the quest though...
    My scripts:
    Best sushi for Profit
    Winterbay's Helpful Automatic Monsterbasher (WHAM)

    Scripts maintained by me:
    Autobasement
    Smashlib

    A small programmer joke:
    Wife: Honey, please go to the market and buy 1 bottle of milk. If they have eggs, bring 6.
    The man came back with 6 bottles of milk.
    Wife: Why did you buy 6 bottles of milk.
    Man: Because they had eggs...

    The 6 Stages of Debugging: 1 )That can't happen. 2) That shouldn't happen. 3) Hmmm, weird. 4) Why does that happen? 5) Oh, I see. 6 )How did that ever work?

    All programs can be optimized, and all programs have bugs; therefore all programs can be optimized to one line that doesn’t work. /Bob Fitch, Blizzard

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Ran v0.2 (started just before you uploaded version 0.3) and it went fine and it said it was finding the generator to activate it with the EMU unit when I had to go on vacation for a few days so had to abort. When I got back the quest log said that I needed to find the generator and fix it while my inventory only had two parts of the EMU unit and no unit. This understandably made the script confused and it aborted.
    Having done the parts to get the last two parts, the spooky girl and the escort mission manually the script finished off just fine.

    No idea what happened to let the quest log move forward faster than the quest though...
    Originally Posted by Winterbay View Post
    Hmm, interesting. When I finish my current run I'll remove the loop and check the quest log between each step. Thanks for the feedback!

  10. #20
    Senior Member Winterbay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    Apparently when you lose the game of Porko to activate the shield you lose yoru Unit and regain two of its parts. I'm going to guess that this was what happened. A a recent bug report states that if you do this mafia doesn't recognise that you lost it and the scritp will thus keep on running with no possibility of redemption, checking the quest log in this case will be moot since that will be on the latest stage due to you having reached that point at least once.
    It might thus be a better idea to check for the parts of the unit (and the unit) rather than relying on the quest log.
    My scripts:
    Best sushi for Profit
    Winterbay's Helpful Automatic Monsterbasher (WHAM)

    Scripts maintained by me:
    Autobasement
    Smashlib

    A small programmer joke:
    Wife: Honey, please go to the market and buy 1 bottle of milk. If they have eggs, bring 6.
    The man came back with 6 bottles of milk.
    Wife: Why did you buy 6 bottles of milk.
    Man: Because they had eggs...

    The 6 Stages of Debugging: 1 )That can't happen. 2) That shouldn't happen. 3) Hmmm, weird. 4) Why does that happen? 5) Oh, I see. 6 )How did that ever work?

    All programs can be optimized, and all programs have bugs; therefore all programs can be optimized to one line that doesn’t work. /Bob Fitch, Blizzard

Similar Threads

  1. bumcheekcend.ash - A zero setup semi-automated ascension script!
    By bumcheekcity in forum Turn-Burning Scripts
    Replies: 5471
    Last Post: 10-09-2018, 08:12 PM
  2. help determining what script is auto-getting my semi-rare
    By QVamp in forum Community Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 08:54 PM
  3. Weatherboy's Completely Automatic Spaaace Script
    By Weatherboy in forum Turn-Burning Scripts
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 03:40 AM
  4. Automatic Script Updating... Discuss!
    By matt.chugg in forum Community Support
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 07-16-2012, 02:37 PM
  5. Feature - Implemented Cannot run Counter Script from automatic adventuring
    By Bale in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 10:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •