Advice on getting started with this script idead I have?

JohnnyRamrod

All,

I'm hoping for some advice. A couple of qualifiers:

1. this isn't a script request - i want to learn, not beg for someone to write it for me
2. i have a specific thing in mind that is annoying me, and i'm sure it's 'scriptable' but have no idea if it will be difficult or not as i'm very new to this

So, onto the concept.

I am currently spending some time adventuring each day by simply using spices on monsters in the castle mainly to get free MP regen (the meat is nice too!) and then casting either brickos or candy hearts, whichever takes my fancy at the time.

I'm trying to get the most out of my 1100-1200 MP without too much cost for regen. The process I'm happy with, and I have a nice simple CCS that uses spices until around round 24 and then attacks. But I want to build some 'smarts' into what I'm doing. Typically it takes between about 2 and 10 adventures to regen the MP. I'd like to not have to sit around and watch and wait and then stop the queue when the MP has regen'd. I'd rather have a script that can cast the skill for me when i have enough MP and also stop adventuring when my next skill cast would cost more MP than i have.

The main question is: Is this possible and 'reasonably' simple or are there script limitations that would make this impossible?
The second question: If i'm going to have a crack at writing this, is someone able to point me at the types of functions I'd need to look at?

Any early direction or thoughts would be appreciated, or even pointing me to a script that has some similar functions that i might be able to learn from.

Cheers!

heeheehee

Developer
Staff member
1: It'd be doable, I guess. My first guess would be through either a Between-battle script or an unconditional mood trigger.

2: As always, ashref is your friend.
This wiki page should help, and to end adventuring, toss in an abort().

StDoodle

Minion