Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Checking Easyfax doesn't time out

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Default Checking Easyfax doesn't time out

    Easyfax is currently disable but it completely stop my script when faxbot() is called.
    The gcli states:
    Configuring faxable monsters.
    Configuring Easyfax (2504737)
    but it never gets further, even if I request a fax manually from cheesefax.

    It seems to also happen when use "Request a fax". I think the problem is that easyfax is online but just not responsive.

  2. #2
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,430

    Default

    As an aside, do you have a chat window open when you do this? If chat is open and available KoLmafia will report success when it happens or failure due to timeout. I'm not sure what timeout information is provided if chat is not open.

  3. #3

    Default

    Yeah, at first I thought it was failing since I didn't have the chat open but now it seems to be failing to even get the list from easyfax.
    In my opinion, the problem isn't knowing if the bot send the fax or not, it is timing out from getting the list of available faxes from easyfax.

  4. #4
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,430

    Default

    I use the GUI and not always a script but my experience (even lately) has been that either EasyFax responds or KoLmafia decides that it it probably not online, displays that in the GUI if asked and then I believe mafia and stop expecting it to answer. But there are probably a couple time out values that might better be preferences to let the user make adjustments.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Crowther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,479

    Default

    Easyfax has been down a lot more recently do to all these server side errors. They break my regular scripts too. The list is stored on Sourceforge.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I just encountered this condition where Easyfax is online but not responding to requests, so I wanted to bump this bug up again. If we could have mafia either timeout or be able to set a preference for which bot to use in case one is offline would be helpful I think in this particular situation.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Pazleysox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    470

    Default

    I just encountered this condition where Easyfax is online but not responding to requests, so I wanted to bump this bug up again. If we could have mafia either timeout or be able to set a preference for which bot to use in case one is offline would be helpful I think in this particular situation.
    Originally Posted by madowl View Post
    Could this be a whitelist issue? I might be completely off the mark with this. I have been having whitelist troubles with a dreadsylvania bot that i run. I don't think the issue is script related for the bot, because the error fixed itself when the bot logged on the next day.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Crowther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,479

    Default

    I just encountered this condition where Easyfax is online but not responding to requests, so I wanted to bump this bug up again. If we could have mafia either timeout or be able to set a preference for which bot to use in case one is offline would be helpful I think in this particular situation.
    Originally Posted by madowl View Post
    Those server-side timeouts are a pain for all my scripts and EasyFax is very conservative. If it fails to dump a fax it stops, because I'm worried about it accidentally dumping one into a holding clan.

  9. #9
    Developer Veracity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Unseelie Court
    Posts
    12,002

    Default

    Times out for me. My script eventually realizes it is down and proceeds without faxing.
    Can you explain the following, please:

    How are you calling EasyFax?
    What happens to you when Easyfax is down?
    What do you think should happen in that case?

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,430

    Default

    Times out for me. My script eventually realizes it is down and proceeds without faxing.
    Can you explain the following, please:

    How are you calling EasyFax?
    What happens to you when Easyfax is down?
    What do you think should happen in that case?

    Thanks.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I use an alias that finds a faxable monster that needs factoids and then (in ash) does "faxbot(mon)". faxbot (i.e. KoLmafia) has elected which bot to use. I have learned that I am much happier with the results if I open a chat window before running the command. Most of the time EasyFax is the bot selected. Things usually work as expected. There are times when I get "no answer" from the bot. Sometimes if I try again I get the fax. If I get two or three failures I use the GUI to select a monster from the other faxbot. Recently - as within the last month or so, I have seen a couple failures that were not timeouts but had a message that the bot was not whitelisted in my clan. Since that is a false statement I figured what it really meant is that somewhere there was a network related timing issue.

    Once or twice I have seen something similar to the OP where the alias "stops" but does not complete. What that happened I just confirmed that the bot was "probably not online" in the GUI and then got the fax manually.

    I think mafia does time out and declare failure under most circumstances.
    Well, thank you.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •