int buy( int quantity, item it, int price_limit ) usage

hotdeth

I'm new to ash but have done a little CLI scripting. I decided the other day that I want to start collecting spooky shroomkabobs and am looking for something to buy some every day as long as they are below a certain price.

It appears that: int buy( int quantity, item it, int price_limit ) is the perfect commant however I'm not quite sure how to use it in the CLI or if it must be in an ASH script.

my understanding of the usage: buy ( 1 , "spooky shroomkabob", 101 )

the CLI treats this like the "buy 1 spooky shroomkabob " and complains if there is a max meat price.

Can somone point me in the right direction either on this functions usage or an ash script that already contains this function so I can figure it out?

Thanks!

P

jasonharper

Developer
buy ( 1 , $item[spooky shroomkabob], 101 ) is how you'd do this from ASH.
buy 1 spooky shroomkabob @ 101 is the equivalent CLI command.

hotdeth

Thanks! I was able to get the buy to work via the CLI however I am still having issues getting it to work in an ash script.

putting the command given in an .ash file and running it gives the following results:

Expected ;, found null (Collecting.ash, line 1)

Keep in mind that you can always do it the lazy/noob way.

cli_execute("buy 1 spooky shroomkabob @ 101");

Since you are familiar with CLI commands, you can easily ash script whatever you want by simply cli_executing. You can 'assemble' a command as well, such as...

cli_execute("buy " +numShroomToBuy +" spooky shroomkabob @ " +maxPrice);

where the 2 variables are ints of course. The only catch is you have to be CAREFUL about spacing. Note the space after Buy and before Spooky.

hotdeth

Hmmm I could have sworn I had added the ; at the end and tried it already. I didn't happen to see the need for a ; at the end of every line in the Advanced scripting guide.