Planning a What to Buy Script

philmasterplus

You've all seen these threads appear every now and then--threads asking about familiars, comparisons between off-hands, and purchase choices. I've been down the same road quite a few times, except I'd like to write a script to solve it.

Question: is there a script that, given a price range and the type of items that the person is looking for, searches for IOTMs and other powerful and rare familiars/items? Because I'm struggling to write one, and I really don't know where to start. I'm new to ASH scripting and all this stuff regarding maps and records confuses me, being used to the old C++ arrays and JavaScript objects.

Right now I'm trying to categorize the full list of IOTMs into several groups, such as familiars, squishables, clan furniture, etc. Helpful ideas, pretty please?

My goals:
  • Retrieve and compare the most recent prices of various expensive items that are frequently compared for purchase.
  • Categorize the items so that the user can search for them
  • Take the range of meat the user is willing to spend
  • Briefly describe the functions of each familiar/item/etc.

Basically, a customizable catalog of "expensive stuff" with up-to-date price information.

Last edited:

StDoodle

Minion
If you're already familiar with programming, but not the specifics of ASH, I highly recommend looking through the wiki. The Data Structures Page (and it's Talk Page; we really should combine the best of the two) do a pretty good job of explaining how to use maps. One function that may be of particular use is historical_price(); while mafia doesn't allow access to up-to-the-second mall info to prevent the creation of evil mallbots, IotM gear should be fine when checked over a slightly longer term.