Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 82

Thread: stannius' semi-automatic spaaace script

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    355

    Default

    When going for the Unit, the script only ran with 1 adv. Restarting the script it also ran with just 1 adv. I ended up manually doing the adv until I got the Porko-minigame.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    It might thus be a better idea to check for the parts of the unit (and the unit) rather than relying on the quest log.
    Originally Posted by Winterbay View Post
    I already have code to do that (sort of)
    Code:
        if (contains_text(questLogPage1,"Find and repair the shield generator on Hamburglaris."))
        {
            AssertHasItem($item[E.M.U. Unit]);
    AssertHasItem aborts if the item is missing. Not graceful but it shouldn't burn all your adventures.

    The problem, as per the bug report, is that mafia's internal state thinks you have the Unit, so this check will pass. I'll see if I can check for lack of the constituent items. (Assuming mafia detects the gain thereof.)

    When going for the Unit, the script only ran with 1 adv. Restarting the script it also ran with just 1 adv. I ended up manually doing the adv until I got the Porko-minigame.
    Originally Posted by Ferdawoon View Post
    Odd... I'll check it out when the kingdom comes back up...
    Last edited by stannius; 06-28-2011 at 04:30 PM.

  3. #23
    Senior Member Winterbay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    Yeah, and now it should detect the loss again so that code should work. The problem is if the script somehow manages to lose three times in the porko game the quest log will still show that you have gotten that far and if you don't have the unit the script will then exit rather than try again.
    Also: I think a better solution might be to make sure it doesn't lose three times
    My scripts:
    Best sushi for Profit
    Winterbay's Helpful Automatic Monsterbasher (WHAM)

    Scripts maintained by me:
    Autobasement
    Smashlib

    A small programmer joke:
    Wife: Honey, please go to the market and buy 1 bottle of milk. If they have eggs, bring 6.
    The man came back with 6 bottles of milk.
    Wife: Why did you buy 6 bottles of milk.
    Man: Because they had eggs...

    The 6 Stages of Debugging: 1 )That can't happen. 2) That shouldn't happen. 3) Hmmm, weird. 4) Why does that happen? 5) Oh, I see. 6 )How did that ever work?

    All programs can be optimized, and all programs have bugs; therefore all programs can be optimized to one line that doesn’t work. /Bob Fitch, Blizzard

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Yeah, and now it should detect the loss again so that code should work. The problem is if the script somehow manages to lose three times in the porko game the quest log will still show that you have gotten that far and if you don't have the unit the script will then exit rather than try again.
    Also: I think a better solution might be to make sure it doesn't lose three times
    Originally Posted by Winterbay View Post
    Version 0.2 had an off-by-one error in the porko code, but that was hopefully fixed in 0.3.

    I will manually lose Porko and try to make my script recover.

  5. #25
    Developer
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    4,510

    Default

    I will manually lose Porko and try to make my script recover.
    Originally Posted by stannius View Post
    Try to catch the game text you get the first two times you loose.
    Try the Nemesis Quest Script or the FamiliarFeeder interface.
    *shakes KoLMafia tech support magic 8-ball* Update mafia to the latest daily .JAR!
    NEW Dad ASCENSION STARTED 20120730
    ------------------------------
    Welcome to Parenthood, Noob

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Try to catch the game text you get the first two times you loose.
    Originally Posted by slyz View Post
    Will do!

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    287

    Default

    Sadly, I was unable to lose at Porko. If I understand correctly, there was a 6% chance of success, and I hit it

    I will have to create a mutli to try this further. In the meantime, I have uploaded v0.4, which at a minimum fixes the bug Ferdawoon found.
    Last edited by stannius; 06-28-2011 at 09:43 PM.

  8. #28
    Senior Member Winterbay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    5,033

    Default

    Not sure if this is a Scritp bug or a Mafia bug but here we go:
    Code:
    [1441] Hamburglaris Shield Generator
    Encounter: Big-Time Generator
    Encounter:     Big-Time Generator
    Probablities:     1.00:1.00:1.00:1.38:1.38:0.83:0.09:0.09:0.09
    best     choice is 4 at 1.38 ev.
    Encounter: Big-Time Generator
    Encounter:     Big-Time Generator
    Programmer error: Lost Porko. This     should not happen and probably indicates a bug.
    
    >     prefref porko
    
    lastPorkoBoard (user, now     '2222331313311211323213211323112333331133133112211111112122212121212213131231333223332331321113212332113123331221221333212332212333212222',     default )
    lastPorkoExpected (user, now     '1.00:1.00:1.00:1.38:1.38:0.83:0.09:0.09:0.09', default )
    lastPorkoPayouts     (user, now '022120013', default )
    I have no idea how the 1.38's showed up there. They shouldn't (max chance should be 1). I would suggest putting in a sanity-check to make sure the choosen value isn't >1 and if it is abort and let the user poke at it.

    I loaded it up in the relay browser and now the preferences say:
    Code:
    lastPorkoBoard (user, now     '1213323322223111211122233113111233213131232312321311113322111113121113311121133323233122122331231212112311311133321211121122122211111113',     default )
    lastPorkoExpected (user, now     '1.00:1.00:0.62:0.59:0.28:0.00:0.00:0.00:0.00', default )
    lastPorkoPayouts     (user, now '000010000', default )
    So it appears that the preferencce wasn't updated from the last time I played Porko last ascencion?
    My scripts:
    Best sushi for Profit
    Winterbay's Helpful Automatic Monsterbasher (WHAM)

    Scripts maintained by me:
    Autobasement
    Smashlib

    A small programmer joke:
    Wife: Honey, please go to the market and buy 1 bottle of milk. If they have eggs, bring 6.
    The man came back with 6 bottles of milk.
    Wife: Why did you buy 6 bottles of milk.
    Man: Because they had eggs...

    The 6 Stages of Debugging: 1 )That can't happen. 2) That shouldn't happen. 3) Hmmm, weird. 4) Why does that happen? 5) Oh, I see. 6 )How did that ever work?

    All programs can be optimized, and all programs have bugs; therefore all programs can be optimized to one line that doesn’t work. /Bob Fitch, Blizzard

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,812

    Default

    I have no idea how the 1.38's showed up there.
    Originally Posted by Winterbay View Post
    "ev" is expected value (in this case, it should be sum of probability(ends in slot i)*payout(slot i) over all bottom slots). This can be as high as 3 (100% probability of getting 3 isotopes) and is important - 50% of getting 3 is way better than 51% of getting 1.

  10. #30
    Developer Veracity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Unseelie Court
    Posts
    11,393

    Default

    Except this is the Big-Time Generator - the thing you slide down in your EMU Unit. The expected values should be between 0 and 1.
    Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu
    R'lyeh wgah-nagl fhtagn.

Similar Threads

  1. bumcheekcend.ash - A zero setup semi-automated ascension script!
    By bumcheekcity in forum Turn-Burning Scripts
    Replies: 5466
    Last Post: 08-03-2018, 02:26 AM
  2. help determining what script is auto-getting my semi-rare
    By QVamp in forum Community Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 08:54 PM
  3. Weatherboy's Completely Automatic Spaaace Script
    By Weatherboy in forum Turn-Burning Scripts
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 03:40 AM
  4. Automatic Script Updating... Discuss!
    By matt.chugg in forum Community Support
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 07-16-2012, 02:37 PM
  5. Feature - Implemented Cannot run Counter Script from automatic adventuring
    By Bale in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 10:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •