Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problems with the daily build

  1. #1

    Default Problems with the daily build

    Hi, I've downloaded daily builds 8199 thru 8204.

    I always have Windows Task Manager to watch for things and I've noticed that when I do right-click and choose open the dailybuild with java(TM) platform SE binary the javaw.exe shows up on the list in Windows Task Manager like it's supposed to, but then disappears and the daily build doesn't open. What's going on? This happens with dailybuilds for me sometimes, so then I have to use the latest version of Kolmafia (.exe) instead.

    If it helps, I have Microsoft Vista and I don't have much running. I have all that useless crap closed like the sidebar and stuff.

    Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

    ***edit****

    just checked my programs to see what the latest Java I have and notice its Java(tm) update 17 installed. I'm going to try downloading version 6 update 18 and hopefully this will fix my problem.

    ***edit***
    ok so I've downloaded and installed and Java version 6 update 18 won't fix the problem. Still can't open build 8204. I'll see if downloading the newest java(TM) platform SE binary will help.

    ***edit***

    so it appears I have the latest version of java platfrorm se binary. idk. this sucks.

    ****edit****

    I just tried version 8607 and it STILL won't open. Could I get some help here?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Theraze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8,636

    Default

    Could try using the updater file from http://kolmafia.us/showthread.php?28...ll=1#post30235 post 37... None of the daily builds have failed to run for me using that.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,651

    Default

    I have seen systems where "open with java ..." on file X just executed java X; jar files need to heave java -jar X executed on them. I think I fixed that with total commander - standard windows tools don't make it exactly intuitive ...

  4. #4

    Default

    Could try using the updater file from http://kolmafia.us/showthread.php?28...ll=1#post30235 post 37... None of the daily builds have failed to run for me using that.
    Originally Posted by Theraze View Post
    Nope. Still doesn't work. Whenever I try to open it, I look at it open in the background on my window task manager. javaw.exe is there under the Processes tab, but then quickly disappears.

    Can anyone help me please?????

  5. #5

    Default

    Try the solution in this post, linguinelad - http://kolmafia.us/showthread.php?31...ll=1#post21662. Though skip the "path\to\your\javaw.exe" line; that's just its way of saying "if it's not installed in the usual place, type this instead". This solution is for windows 7, but the same thing should work for Vista.

    The problem is you can't just open it with Java, javaw requires command line options to open a JAR file correctly. This tells Windows what options to use so you can just double-click on the file afterwards. After you try this fix, don't try the right-click method for the JAR file, try just double-clicking on it.

    (If you don't know how to open a command prompt with "Run as administrator", type "cmd" into the start menu bar, right-click on cmd.exe, and choose "Run as administrator" there.)
    Last edited by Idran; 09-16-2010 at 12:26 AM.

  6. #6

    Default

    Try the solution in this post, linguinelad - http://kolmafia.us/showthread.php?31...ll=1#post21662. Though skip the "path\to\your\javaw.exe" line; that's just its way of saying "if it's not installed in the usual place, type this instead". This solution is for windows 7, but the same thing should work for Vista.

    The problem is you can't just open it with Java, javaw requires command line options to open a JAR file correctly. This tells Windows what options to use so you can just double-click on the file afterwards. After you try this fix, don't try the right-click method for the JAR file, try just double-clicking on it.

    (If you don't know how to open a command prompt with "Run as administrator", type "cmd" into the start menu bar, right-click on cmd.exe, and choose "Run as administrator" there.)
    Originally Posted by Idran View Post
    Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You Thank You !!!!!!
    I right-clicked it and selected "Choose Default Program" and I selected the appropriate program. Now all I do is double-click on the Daily Build and it works!!!!!!!!! Thanks again!!!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Bug - Cannot Reproduce Latest build (10572) problems with equipment with single quotes in
    By Terragon in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-01-2016, 03:57 PM
  2. The latest Daily Build
    By dangerpin in forum Unofficial Builds
    Replies: 238
    Last Post: 06-11-2013, 07:44 PM
  3. Getting the latest daily build
    By matt.chugg in forum Community Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 04:19 AM
  4. Using the daily build
    By Jt in forum Community Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 01:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •