Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 70

Thread: Not a bug - not a script problem - sourceforge issues

  1. #41
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,093

    Default

    They say it is fixed. They asked for ip address of any "new" failures. There was a comment that there is an SVN specific protocol that is easier on their servers than https: It is probably worth investigating as well as some kind of throttling on mafia's end - limit number of simultaneous requests, introduce delay between etc.
    Last edited by fronobulax; 06-14-2018 at 01:21 PM.

  2. #42
    Developer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4,556

    Default

    Interesting. Certainly for mafia itself I use svn+ssh://, I seem to recall you can use svn:// if you aren't committing to mafia.

  3. #43
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,093

    Default

    From https://sourceforge.net/p/forge/site-support/17943/

    Note, though that svn+ssh:// checkouts or svn:// checkouts will use a lot less connections than https typically does.

  4. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,801

    Default

    Do we want mafia to automatically convert https URLs to svn URLs on (first) script checkout? Repository URL is stored in .svn metadata.
    Or can svn:// be forced on an operation-by-operation basis (in svnkit)?

    How well does svnkit support svn:// ?

  5. #45
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,093

    Default

    I'm inclined to run an experiment where the the repository is given as svn+ssh:// instead of https:// and see what happens. I would try it for a new (to a user) repository and then on an existing one. If the change is transparent then, since the json file belongs to mafia anyway, I'd update that file to use the preferred protocol for any SourceForge hosted scripts. That still leaves scripts that are not in the json but script authors or users who are bothered can just check out the script with the different protocol. I like that better than having mafia munge the input.

  6. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    222

    Default

    ... That still leaves scripts that are not in the json but script authors or users who are bothered can just check out the script with the different protocol. ...
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    Predicated on the "if the change is transparent" question: Is there a way to identify such (not-in-json) scripts among already checked out scripts? Is there a way of just changing protocols, or would existing scripts like that need to be removed and then added using the new protocol? What about the script forum posts that still use the https protocol?

    Just trying to think about potential tasks ahead and persistence of recurring issues.

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    968

    Default

    And....whatever Sourceforge did has come undone again. I tried running svn update and, after the first twenty, or so script checks, was blocked again.

  8. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,801

    Default

    Is there a way of just changing protocols
    Originally Posted by fractalnavel View Post
    SVN supports a switch/relocate command, which just changes the URL that needs to be changed for that. Worst case, you can do it from command line (you might need to get command line tools that support the same version of local repository as mafia's copy of svnkit does; I think svnkit has commandline tools that can do that).

  9. #49
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,093

    Default

    And....whatever Sourceforge did has come undone again. I tried running svn update and, after the first twenty, or so script checks, was blocked again.
    Originally Posted by Magus_Prime View Post
    Well it worked for me this morning. Do you have a SourceForge account, do you know what your internal IP was when it failed and is it failing now?

    I'm more than happy to change KoLmafia to be a good netizan but fundamentally this is SourceForge's problem and they have not been forthcoming (perhaps justifiably if this is part of an effort to reduce attack vectors) with specifics.

    I am very much distracted by shiny objects and the local weather has cleared and there are lots of them outside. Nevertheless, if no one runs some tests and reports, I will spend some time determining whether Kolmafia supports svn-ssl and whether it recognizes svn-ssl and https protocols that point to the same project as actually being the same project. If that is the case then there is some low hanging fruit tat can be harvested over the weekend.
    You just vehemently agreed with me
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I agree with frono.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post

  10. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    968

    Default

    Hi Frono. I do have a Sourceforge account and reported it in the thread along with my IP address. The block expired after, approximately, an hour.

    I agree that it's yet another frustrating change on the part of Sourceforge.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •