Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: Not a bug - not a script problem - sourceforge issues

  1. #51

    Default

    Interestingly, the reason I have always refused to enable automatic updating of all scripts every day is that it seemed like wasteful server hits for sourceforge/github/whoever to deal with, when plenty of scripts are never updated. I see why script writers would want to be sure that script users are regularly updating, but I can also understand why sourceforge would specifically not want this type of thing from random users.

  2. #52
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,026

    Default

    I am still surrounded by shiny objects.

    I have reached out to the SF engineer who worked the ticket in case he has other suggestions.

    Introducing a delay between requests will definitely help. I'm OK with doing that, especially if the delay can be tweaked by the user. I will work on that momentarily.

    Limiting the maximum number of simultaneous requests might also get done although I have not dug deeply into how I would do that.

    I've done some playing with replacing https: with svn: I deleted a script and then checked it out with svn: It worked but the SVN version on disk is older than what my copy of TorotiseSVN wants to deal with and I'd like to understand why before I go too far.

    I note that svn is Read Only and svn+ssh will commit. If all KoLmafia SVN operations on a "project" must use the same URL then changing the URL to svn might break KoLmafia's ability to commit. On the other hand a commit will require a user name and password and I don't know if/where KoLmafia is getting those so... Still more questions than answers.

  3. #53
    Developer
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,752

    Default

    I've done some playing with replacing https: with svn: I deleted a script and then checked it out with svn: It worked but the SVN version on disk is older than what my copy of TorotiseSVN wants to deal with and I'd like to understand why before I go too far.
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    SVNKit probably needs updating :/

  4. #54
    Developer
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,752

    Default

    Actually, looks like you could probably just svn upgrade those, and it'd probably work just fine. Unless your version of SVN is sufficiently ahead of the version of SVNKit currently bundled with Mafia.

  5. #55
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,026

    Default

    SVNKit probably needs updating :/
    Originally Posted by heeheehee View Post
    Quite possibly. There is a new version circa May 2018 but I am not quite ready to look at the differences and incorporate it. Neither am I willing to change the build process to maven or something similar where we can just grab a jar file as a third party dependency. And I just noticed mafia uses some third party jars so maybe that is the way forward.
    You just vehemently agreed with me
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I agree with frono.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post

  6. #56
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,026

    Default

    Actually, looks like you could probably just svn upgrade those, and it'd probably work just fine. Unless your version of SVN is sufficiently ahead of the version of SVNKit currently bundled with Mafia.
    Originally Posted by heeheehee View Post
    I think I saw this before and Tortoise upgraded and mafia could handle it but I'm not in a position to try something and have it breal everything. Eventually...
    You just vehemently agreed with me
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I agree with frono.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post

  7. #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,791

    Default

    SVNKit probably needs updating :/
    Originally Posted by heeheehee View Post
    That won't automatically upgrade the (local on-disk) repositories. Do we want a command for that, or an auto-upgrade somewhere?

  8. #58
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Central Virginia, USA
    Posts
    4,026

    Default

    OK.

    I saw several 429 errors this morning so Sourceforge may be reporting a useful error message.

    I decided the easiest thing was to use a ThreadPool to limit the requests. The attached patch does that and has worked for me. If anyone feels like reviewing it or trying it, please do so. I am especially concerned that I am swallowing errors that were at least reported before.

    The pool size is set by the global variable svnThreadPoolSize. I don't expect users to really be messing with it so have not added it to a GUI.

    I'll fix the extra space before a finally and commit in the next day or two.

    I don't have a good programmatic fix for svn: vs https: yet. Not sure there will be one.

    Patch.
    SVNThrottle.patch

  9. #59
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Thanks for sticking with this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •