Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: How do I make mafia auto abort adventure automation when I get beatup?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    21

    Default How do I make mafia auto abort adventure automation when I get beatup?

    I noticed that I get beat up during adventure automation in mafia, it just keeps on going. wasting turns getting repeatedly beat up (since i am already beat up my stats have -50% meaning i will get beat up again and again)

    How do I make mafia auto abort the adventure tab automation when beatup status occurs?

  2. #2
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    D.C. suburbs of Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,814

    Default

    One way is to make a mood with an entry that aborts if Beaten Up.
    You just vehemently agreed with me
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I agree with frono.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    There are 69 players more powerful than you.
    Originally Posted by Statistics Leaderboards

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    21

    Default

    One way is to make a mood with an entry that aborts if Beaten Up.
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    thank you. So, I make "when an effect is gained" and check for "Beaten Up" effect.
    but what command should it give it to cause it to abort?

  4. #4
    Developer
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    4,086

    Default

    abort

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    21

    Default

    abort
    Originally Posted by Darzil View Post
    thank you.
    I added it to my mood and will try it out tomorrow when my adventures refresh

    edit: Well, this method works to abort combat. However, it somehow also changed the method of healing beaten up by clicking on it (click to heal) into an "abort" command as well
    Last edited by taltamir; 11-05-2017 at 12:03 PM.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Ok, I encountered a bigger method with this problem, and that is that the restore HP script no longer works when beaten up while this is selected. It tries to restore beaten up by casting abort. even though it was put in a mood and i didn't touch the HP restore script.

    It also has to be manually redone each ascension. I get the feeling I am going to have to learn how to script and write a specific script for aborting and set it for after combat.

  7. #7
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    D.C. suburbs of Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,814

    Default

    If there is anything that is trying to cast abort (as opposed to execute the abort command) then there is almost certainly some corrupt data locally on your system.

    You might step back and remind us exactly what you are trying to do. My goal is to not waste turns while Beaten Up. So my mood is set to uneffect beaten up (because I want to continue adventuring) and my recovery settings are such that they will automatically restore. Furthermore I can do this, without any scripts that I wrote, across Ascensions. But I am explicitly giving up control of what happens when I get beaten up or need restoration. Sometimes the character does not have enough meat to afford that so I have to trade automation for control.

    It has been a while since I reminded myself of exactly what Abort does, but depending on the order of occurrence, I am not surprised that you Abort and then have to manually restore HP. So if you are concerned about abort and then not restoring HP you may have received incorrect advice - hence my question about what, exactly are you trying to accomplish?
    You just vehemently agreed with me
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I agree with frono.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    There are 69 players more powerful than you.
    Originally Posted by Statistics Leaderboards

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    21

    Default

    If there is anything that is trying to cast abort (as opposed to execute the abort command) then there is almost certainly some corrupt data locally on your system.

    You might step back and remind us exactly what you are trying to do. My goal is to not waste turns while Beaten Up. So my mood is set to uneffect beaten up (because I want to continue adventuring) and my recovery settings are such that they will automatically restore. Furthermore I can do this, without any scripts that I wrote, across Ascensions. But I am explicitly giving up control of what happens when I get beaten up or need restoration. Sometimes the character does not have enough meat to afford that so I have to trade automation for control.

    It has been a while since I reminded myself of exactly what Abort does, but depending on the order of occurrence, I am not surprised that you Abort and then have to manually restore HP. So if you are concerned about abort and then not restoring HP you may have received incorrect advice - hence my question about what, exactly are you trying to accomplish?
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    My installation is not corrupted, the issue is with the workaround used.

    I am trying to make the bulk auto adventure mafia thing abort when beaten up.
    The only way suggested so far (which works btw) is to add a mood to perform the action "abort" when acquiring the "buff" called "beaten up".

    However, using the above mood results in 2 negative consequences.
    1. Clicking the "3 turns remaining" link at the buff list to "shake it off" will cast abort.

    2. on manual adventure, the before battle restore HP script will abort if beaten up, with the option to click on the picture to continue which will continue without any healing at all.

    While your method of setting the mood to auto remove beaten up (for example, by auto casting tongue of walrus). I do not have that skill permed so for me it is not an option. I need to decide if to use a free rest, a regular rest, or an item to remove it. Hence I want it to abort.
    Honestly, this should be the default setting since if you are getting beaten up during auto adventures then you probably set up something wrong.

  9. #9
    Developer fronobulax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    D.C. suburbs of Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,814

    Default

    My installation is not corrupted, the issue is with the workaround used.
    Originally Posted by taltamir View Post
    The phrase "cast abort" does not accurately describe anything mafia was designed or expected to do. But there are circumstances where mafia will "cast X" where X is something mafia got from a data file. If mafia is really trying to "cast abort" as you said then a corrupt data file is a probable cause.

    I couldn't reproduce your 2 or 3 but that just means I'm still not understanding you or there is some long forgotten setting that is different for me than you.

    There is a trade-off between automation and customization and sometimes you can't get KoLmafia to give you both. Unless there is a real KoL bug behind some of your experience you just might not be able to get what you want.

    You might consider writing up 2, 3 and your suggested change in defaults as Bug reports or feature requests. 2 and 3 might be working as designed but if other people can reliably reproduce them then there will at least be a discussion of why the design is the way it is.
    You just vehemently agreed with me
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I agree with frono.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    There are 69 players more powerful than you.
    Originally Posted by Statistics Leaderboards

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    21

    Default

    The phrase "cast abort" does not accurately describe anything mafia was designed or expected to do.
    Originally Posted by fronobulax View Post
    I was not using a technical term.
    Normally when you click on the time remaining time for an effect in the relay browser you attempt to "shrug it off" (according to tooltips) or otherwise remove it in an appropriate manner. This can be either a skill, free rest, or an item. I forgot about the fact that it isn't always a skill, and healing skills are basically spells, hence my use of the word "cast".

    To be technical about it, using default mood to set
    Code:
    When I get Beaten Up, abort
    results in:

    1. if manually pressing the time remaining in relay browser then the tooltip will say
    Abort to remove the beaten up effect
    and clicking it will perform (in CLI)
    Code:
    KoLmafia declares world peace.
    This is the main issue. For some reason mood is overwriting the restore script in a weird way.
    PS. try unchecking all options in HP/MP restore page. maybe they take precedence for you?
    ---
    2. If using a script or the built in multi adventure mode, then the CLI will perform the following when you get beaten up.
    Code:
    Beaten Up will be removed via pre-defined trigger (abort)...
    Script abort.
    It is the desirable action in this scenario... but the way it goes about it is implying some issues with the implementation. (it is trying to remove beaten up via a predefined trigger instead of "because the effect beaten up was gained, a predefined trigger will be performed "abort")
    ----
    There is a trade-off between automation and customization and sometimes you can't get KoLmafia to give you both.

    I am aware, that said, I believe that aborting automation when beaten up so that you can make adjustments is not beyond reasonable. That would clearly be a feature request. Initially I had just assumed that it was an existing feature that I simply didn't know about and was asking for help in turning it on.

    However, there is a bug in the way that the mood is implemented. For some reason mood overwrites several other functions that it shouldn't automatically influence. It either treats "when an effect is gained" trigger as a "remove immediately using the chosen command" (assuming that the chosen command is a removal one). Or it hardcoded beaten up as a malus and treat any command that is triggered by it as a "remove using this thing". And in either case, its the mood setup that does that rather than HP/MP usage (which is what controls the restore HP script normally)

    If this is fully intentional and there is no desire to change it, then "when an effect is gained" in the dropdown box in mood setup should really instead say "when a negative effect is gained, remove it"

    And "when an effect is lost" should probably say "maintain these buffs" or some such.

    ... actually. I wonder if using unconditional trigger would work instead. nope, unconditional trigger just deletes whatever i try to input in the box for some reason...
    Last edited by taltamir; 11-12-2017 at 03:44 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •