Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: VYKEA Furniture Builder

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    131

    Default VYKEA Furniture Builder

    See below.
    Last edited by guyy; 02-07-2017 at 11:23 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    223

    Default

    Hmm, I had been meaning to get myself a companion today, so I figured I might as well give it a try. However, 'vykea stench light' doesn't do anything (it aborts with 'couldn't figure out what you were trying to build'). Looking into the code, I can't see why it fails to recognise the stench, but I did notice you incorrectly labelled the lamp as cold.

    Edit: it fails on 'vykea dishrack light' too.
    Last edited by the dictator; 02-07-2017 at 09:13 AM.

  3. #3
    Minion Bale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13,287

    Default

    I usually just use CLI commands to make my furniture. Like: create level 5 frenzy couch

    I've never had need of a script for this.

    Code:
    > create level 5 couch
    
    Verifying ingredients for level 5 couch (1)...
    Searching for "VYKEA instructions"...
    Search complete.
    Purchasing VYKEA instructions (1 @ 6,500)...
    Purchases complete.
    Searching for "VYKEA rail"...
    Search complete.
    Purchasing VYKEA rail (5 @ 400)...
    Purchases complete.
    Searching for "VYKEA dowel"...
    Search complete.
    Purchasing VYKEA dowel (37 @ 270)...
    Purchases complete.
    Searching for "VYKEA plank"...
    Search complete.
    Purchasing VYKEA plank (5 @ 100)...
    Purchases complete.
    Searching for "VYKEA bracket"...
    Search complete.
    Purchasing VYKEA bracket (5 @ 100)...
    Purchases complete.
    
    [13344] VYKEA instructions
    Encounter: Some Assembly Required
    Encounter: Some Assembly Required
    Encounter: Some Assembly Required
    Successfully created level 5 couch
    Last edited by Bale; 02-07-2017 at 09:27 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Guess it's kind of pointless if create already does that. Though I had absolutely no way of knowing it did that...

  5. #5
    Senior Member Theraze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8,743

    Default

    Debugcreate?

  6. #6
    Minion Bale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13,287

    Default

    Guess it's kind of pointless if create already does that. Though I had absolutely no way of knowing it did that...
    Originally Posted by guyy View Post
    Well, mafia doesn't make use of all the fancy keywords your script allows. I'd have to actually look up which companion does stench damage on the wiki if I want to know that.

    Also, the create command fails if you don't have a VYKEA hex key in inventory. Mafia won't automatically acquire one. Your script could get that key if it is missing and then act as a user friendly front end for the create command.
    If people like my scripts, please send me stuffed Hodgmen.
    Universal Recovery, OCD Inventory Control, CounterChecker, newLife, ChIT.


  7. #7
    Developer Veracity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Unseelie Court
    Posts
    11,393

    Default

    Also, the create command fails if you don't have a VYKEA hex key in inventory. Mafia won't automatically acquire one.
    Originally Posted by Bale View Post
    Well.... yes and no.

    Code:
    r16449 | veracity0 | 2015-11-10 13:39:53 -0500 (Tue, 10 Nov 2015) | 7 lines
    
    Adjust VYKEA companion recipes so that they explicitly include the VKEA
    instructions. Other prerequisites - hex key, and the mandatory 5 each of
    planks, rails, and brackets - no longer make VYKEA creation method invalid if
    they are not in inventory; they have to be "accessible". The VYKEA companion
    creation request will now "retrieve" hex key, mandatory parts and all the
    actually consumed ingredients before constructing the companion.
    Unlike the planks, etc., it won't buy one from the mall, because:

    Code:
    		else if ( !InventoryManager.hasItem( ItemPool.VYKEA_HEX_KEY ) )
    		{
    			ConcoctionDatabase.EXCUSE.put( CraftingType.VYKEA, "You do not have a VYKEA hex key." );
    		}
    InventoryManager.hasItem() checks if it is "accessible". Considering that actual creation does this:

    Code:
    		// Make sure your VYKEA hex key is in inventory
    		if ( !InventoryManager.retrieveItem( ItemPool.VYKEA_HEX_KEY, 1 ) )
    		{
    			KoLmafia.updateDisplay( MafiaState.ERROR, "You need a VYKEA hex key in order to build a VYKEA companion." );
    			return;
    		}
    It will use any method that "acquire" is authorized to use - the mall, the clan stash, etc. - except the other check requires the key to be "accessible". That could easily be characterized as a bug, since we will simply "acquire" planks, etc. without that requirement.

    I think the point of that was to not have Creatables all cluttered up with VYKEA companions if you don't have an easy way to get a hex key. I could remove that restriction, at the expense of clutter.

    Your script could get that key if it is missing and then act as a user friendly front end for the create command.
    Friendly front ends are good.
    Last edited by Veracity; 02-07-2017 at 07:45 PM.
    Ph'nglui mglw'nafh Cthulhu
    R'lyeh wgah-nagl fhtagn.

  8. #8
    Minion Bale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13,287

    Default

    It will use any method that "acquire" is authorized to use - the mall, the clan stash, etc. - except the other check requires the key to be "accessible". That could easily be characterized as a bug, since we will simply "acquire" planks, etc. without that requirement.

    I think the point of that was to not have Creatables all cluttered up with VYKEA companions if you don't have an easy way to get a hex key. I could remove that restriction, at the expense of clutter.
    Originally Posted by Veracity View Post
    I don't think that mafia's method is wrong or else I'd have filed a feature request long ago. It's easy to simply keep a key in inventory if you want to use companions and if you do not, mafia prints out a nice red message explaining why it fails. I'm good with that.
    If people like my scripts, please send me stuffed Hodgmen.
    Universal Recovery, OCD Inventory Control, CounterChecker, newLife, ChIT.


  9. #9
    Senior Member VladYvhuce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    215

    Default

    While it would be nice to have mafia companion creator in the Daily Deeds section, much like the pull-down for cheating at cards, I'm just one of those lazy dreamer types. When I'm thinking more clearly and have the parts to make the companions, I find it's just as easy to use the Item Manager's "Creatable" section and then select what you want to have Mafia build for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •