Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Fishbot.ash

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    389

    Default Fishbot.ash

    So, the Floundry is a thing, and we all need to get that sweet, sweet fish. Well, savoury fish, but you get the idea.

    Introducing, Fishbot! This is a very simple script. Install it via
    Code:
    svn checkout https://svn.code.sf.net/p/digitrev/code/fishbot
    and then run it by fishbot n, where n is the number of adventures you want to spend fishing. It will try to keep your clan's fish stores balanced, so it will adventure in the location where your clan has the least number of fish that you can also access. It'll also try to keep you from burning turns if you don't have a fishin' pole. It won't stop you from burning turns if you aren't in a clan.

    Fishbot will now maximize your fishing skill, and then try to maximize your +combat rate after that.
    Last edited by digitrev; 04-04-2016 at 01:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Erich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    363

    Default

    Nice, thank you for this.

    Suggestion: Zombies drop the wriggling worm, which is notrade. I know I've gotten a few from The Unquiet Garves, which was a fishing spot in the first 2 days of the floundry. If the script has to choose a zone, choosing one with a mob that can drop the worm can help with maximizing fishing skill.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    389

    Default

    Hm. A wriggling worm is only worth 5 extra fish, assuming full combat. Until I get a better idea for the wriggling worm drop-rate, I'll leave the logic as is.

  4. #4

    Default

    It won't stop you from burning turns if you aren't in a clan.
    Originally Posted by digitrev View Post
    Checking get_clan_id() (will be -1 if you aren't in a clan) and having a VIP key (because why not?) should cover the easy cases where fishing isn't possible.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    372

    Default

    Is it supposed to change locations automatically or will it just keep adventuring in the same place till it does all the turns? I think switching would be a great addition so it switches locations when it has fished somewhere enough

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    329

    Default

    ...
    It will try to keep your clan's fish stores balanced, so it will adventure in the location where your clan has the least number of fish that you can also access.
    ...
    Originally Posted by digitrev View Post
    From the announcement.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    389

    Default

    From the announcement.
    Originally Posted by Ethelred View Post
    To follow up, the script checks the clan stocks when you start it up, and then tracks the fish you obtain. So if you start with, say, 0 fish in two locations, it'll adventure in the first zone until it gets the first fish, then switch to the second zone until it gets another fish, and alternate between the two until they catch up with the other 4 fish stocks.

    In order to minimize server hits, it only checks the clan stocks when you start running it, so it won't account for the fish that your clannies find while the bot is running.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    372

    Default

    One other thing it needs to know you need certain outfits to adventure certain places, like the The Poop Deck today.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Theraze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    8,728

    Default

    That's as simple as running the prep version of CanAdv after it's made its decision. Since it's already running it to see if the zone is available, it's just a single line addition to the adventure loop in main.
    Code:
    		keep_up_buffs();
    		can_adv(leash_fish(), true);
    		adventure(1, least_fish());

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    389

    Default

    Updated with Theraze's suggestion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •