Some questions from a new scripter

BleepBlorp

I have an idea for a script I want to write. I'm not really a coder, but I'm not completely helpless either. I know what I want the script to do, and some idea of how to make it happen, and figure it wouldn't be a bad little project for me to spend some time on.

The problem is that I'm running into a pretty basic problem and I can't figure out what's wrong. I look at other scripts that as far as I can tell use the same function in the same way I'm trying to which run fine. But when I try to run mine I get an error.

Specifically:

Code:
Function 'mall_price( int )' undefined. This script may require a more recent version of KoLmafia and/or its supporting scripts. (testing.ash, line 9

And this is where I'm trying to use it. Just a super basic thing to see if I can get it to work.

Code:
script "testing.ash";
import <zlib.ash>

void main() {

int price;
int itemToFind;

itemTofind = 1650;

price = mall_price(itemToFind);

print(price);

}

I try the same type of thing with some other functions, some work, and some don't. I hope someone can shed some light on my problem. I'm using build r14231, zlib is up to date etc, so I doubt that's the problem.

Thanks.

Darzil

Developer
You are passing in an item number, not an item. price = mall_price( $item[milk of magnesium] ); would work fine, as would mall_price( to_item( itemToFind ) );

I think that's the case anyway, I don't actually often do ash scripting.

BleepBlorp

You are passing in an item number, not an item. price = mall_price( $item[milk of magnesium] ); would work fine, as would mall_price( to_item( itemToFind ) );

I think that's the case anyway, I don't actually often do ash scripting.

You are correct. Those both work fine.

What is the "to_item" in the 2nd example? Where does that come from?

BleepBlorp