Script Registry -- for script authors; track your script usage

zarqon

[size=+1]Script Registry 1.9[/size]
For script authors

As a script author, I enjoy using the "notify" command at the top of my scripts. Then when someone uses my script, I get a kmail letting me know that someone liked my script enough to use it. The cockles of my heart are warmed. But, what to do with all these notification kmails? Surely they can serve some purpose besides just cockle-warming...

And so, Script Registry was born.

What does it do?
In a nutshell, Script Registry allows you to keep a record of the information provided by the "notify" command. This record is kept on a remote server and is accessible from within the script or on a public web page (see below).

Every time you use the script, it parses your kmail and registers any appropriate information. After successfully registering the information, it deletes the kmails that it successfully parsed, then generates a report showing your current script use information.

The Script Registry Site
The information that is gathered by the use of this script is viewable on a public web site. It is my desire that this information be useful to the scripting community. Authors can track the use of their script, check to see if a certain script already exists, and find scripts that are useful to other players. Script users can find scripts that are useful to other players, or experienced authors from whom to request scripting assistance. It is currently hosted here:

Script Registry Online

Details
The "notify" command has long been available in mafia. If you write "notify <playername>;" at the top of your script (before any other commands), you will receive automated kmails from other mafia users when they use your script for the first time. It will say "I have opted to let you know that I have chosen to run <scriptname.ash>. Thanks for writing this script!"