Help with external scripts for mac

Mrfred

Hey, I have a script that I wanted to test its efficiency with, so I have a few multi accounts, and I have the script set to login. What I wanted to know was if there are any big mac scripters out there that could help me automatically log in to each account and logout when it was finished log the next account in?

I tried some scripting with applescript, but I have never used it before, and the keystroke function didnt seem to work for the login box. I havent really done much with external scripting. If someone could make a script or describe how to make one (not necessarily with applescript) I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks

Mrfred

Theraze

Logout is easy... it's a CLI script command. Not sure if it's possible to login as an internal script command though... don't think so.

Grotfang

Developer
Use cron.

Sounds like you are basically there. Your start-up script should read something like this:

Code:
login characterOne
call myScript.ash
logout
login characterTwo
call myScript.ash
logout

Remember, myScript.ash can handle different usernames using my_name() or my_id(). Alternatively, call a different script for each character. The second advantage of this method is you can pipe the output to a single file if you wish to check your script for efficiency between characters. Re: applescript... I'm sure you could produce something functional. But since you say you have a login file (and the script set up) this method is one line on your crontab (or typed into the terminal). Why waste time and effort?

Last edited:

Mrfred

Thanks for the quick feedback

@Theraze - I know how to logout with a script, I just wanted to know if it was possible to determine exactly when the script finished. I imagined that would be easier if the external program was set to give kol mafia a command to close, which would take place after the script finished, but I am open to suggestions.